Organic London & a Raw Phad Thai

July 5, 2012 § Leave a comment

Long time no blogging…Iiiih, I have to do better on that front…But yes, I just spent a weekend with my mum in London a few days ago, and got very much foodie-inspired during our stay…(which perhaps is what has pushed me to; at last!!; create another post on my blog). After our first 2 minute stroll since arriving at our hotel in Kensington Gardens, we stumbled upon the lovely-lovely Planet Organic; the UK’s largest fully certified organic supermarket and thereby heaven on earth for a raw foodie and a organic-produce-interested person like myself…And; hah; Hugh Grant was also there to (most especially) my mums true delight; looking very much like himself, only a wee bit advanced in years…But he is definitely a man to age well, I would say…Very ripe. Ceaselessly in season.

But enough of that, and back to my Planet Organic experience, which, for a raw foodie situated in Scandinavia where organic supermarkets with a decent stock of organic and raw goods are rarely to be found, is something quite special…To sum it up, it all resulted in a serious shopping spree of powdered super foods (Maca, Peruvian Carob, Lucuma, Hemp and more powdered, raw love!) and delicious raw treats from Raw Living (Love these products! Yeey Kate Magic!!!), rather than, what I would presume would often be a more common girls-only-weekend-in-London-with-your-mum– result; Oxford Street clothing and shoe shoppin´till´you´re droppin´; leaving both my own and not to mention my mother´s suitcases literally bursting with raw living and loving foods! My mum described the scene as letting a child loose in the playground…I think she was right; I was definitely in my (raw) zone:)

Another raw food & organic produce-heaven run-in came the next day with the discovering of the epicurean vegan/raw food restaurant SAF at Whole Foods in Kensington High Street. What an experience that was…Every bit(e) of it tasted delicious, and the execution was indeed flawless…

Apropos the food at SAF; I got so tremendously inspired by both SAF and my many visits to Planet Organic, that I have been spending HOURS! in the kitchen ever since, with the latest creation; a Raw Phad Thai for myself and my mum this afternoon:) The sauce is adapted from Ani Phyo´s recipe here:

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=93LQW4XedfA

with a little tweaking and turning…My mum really liked it, and she has previously been a bit of a skeptic to the whole idea of raw food, so I think that this dish might be one of those “safe dishes” to invite non-raw foodies over for, maybe only minus the Nori sheets, which, from my experience does not become everyone. More Nori for me:)!

Raw Phad Thai

makes 2 servings

For the pasta:

  • 4 carrots, julienned
  • 1/2 zucchini, julienned
  • 1/2 (or more!) fresh chilies, sliced thinly
  • 1/2- 1 spring onions
  • 1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • fresh coriander, approx.  a handful, roughly chopped
  • approx.1 tsp Cayenne Pepper
  • Himalayan Salt to taste

For the sauce:

  • 1 heaping T raw cashew butter
  • 1 T Tamari Sauce
  • 1 T melted Coconut Oil
  • the juice of 1/2 lime
  • 1 tsp Agave Nectar

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl, and; after you´ve made the coconut-cashew sauce; mix that in as well. Add roughly chopped cashew nuts,coriander leafs, sliced chili and lime to finish off the presentation. I also laid the Phad Thai on a layer of Nori Sheets, and accompanied the dish with my first attempt at making raw bread, the recipe coming here!;

Bee(a)t that Bread!

  • Almond pulp from 1 1/2 dl.soaked almonds from a batch of Almond Milk
  • 200 grams golden flax seeds ground into flax meal
  • approx.3-4 dl beetroot juice
  • 2 T Tamari
  • 1 tsp Cayenne
  • Himalayan Salt to taste
  • Sprinkle with white Sesame Seeds (optional)

Mix all ingredients together in a mixing bowl, and spread onto to a baking sheet (as I did, as I do not yet own a dehydrator), or on a Texflex sheet if you´re to use a dehydrator. Dehydrate until crisp!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Organic London & a Raw Phad Thai at veganwealth.

meta

