Winter Bullets

November 10, 2011 § Leave a comment

As temperatures are getting lower, and the Christmas season is yet again nearing, I tend to crave foods and beverages that taste heavily of the present time of year. Ginger, cinnamon and carnations are all spices that I associate with the colder seasons, as they, at least to me, bring back childhood memories of hearty family gatherings around some fireplace, or the simple joy I found in making gingerbread-cookies with my two brothers. So it was in the same spirit that I suddenly felt the urge to make a RAW alternative (I`ve been quite in a RAW-kind-of-mood lately) to the gingerbread-cookies I made (and consumed(!); although more dough than the actual cookies went down my throat) as a child.

Next time, I think I will try alternating the recipe a bit, and include Orange Oil and/or some ground chili to the mixture, to give it that extra Wintery flair…

And to the recipe:

  • 2 dl.pitted dates
  • 2.5 dl.almonds
  • 2 tablespoons of water
  • 1 tablespoon Coconut Oil
  • 4 tablespoons of Cocoa Powder
  • 1 pinch of Sea Salt
  • 1 good teaspoon ground Cinnamon
  • 1 equally as good teaspoon ground Ginger
  • 0.5 teaspoons of ground carnations
Put the pitted dates, all the fluid and the dried spices into a blender, and blend them all well together. Remove from the container, and grind the almonds into an almost flour-like texture. Then mix the almonds in with the rest of the date-mixture, and use your hands to make small bullets. You might want to roll the bullets in coconut flour, again to add to the general wintery feel.
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Winter Bullets at veganwealth.

meta

